Role Plays

JEUX DE RÔLES

58 min, 2015, HD vidéo

 

 

.

.

 

Direction, image, editing, JORDANE MAURS
Production, JORDANE MAURS, BASIA JANISCH

.

« Role plays » is a biographical and autobiographical documentary essay on humanitarian aid during neo-colonial times. The filmmaker draws from her personal experience and interacts with Kevin and Bruno who start a career in humanitarian action with an internship in an NGO in Lomé, Togo.

Kevin is 20 years old and has spent 4 years in the French army as a “sonar operator”. Bruno is 22 years old and has just finished his civic service. The film was shot – before and after their stay in Togo – on the premises of their vocational training centre, the “Platform of integration through humanitarian aid” in Romans-sur-Isère, France.

The two of them form a strong tandem with some disagreements but a complicity and a close relationship which shows in the glances and gestures they exchange. Some sequences focus on their body language, others on their voices, edited on a black screen where parts of their words are transcribed.

Word play and body language intermingle in an occasionally abstract cinematographic discourse which doesn’t necessarily reveal the object of it’s research and where the viewer must find himself the keys to the material presented to him. The film gives a particular importance to sound and text, to the relation between the spoken and the written language, within a syncopated structure which allows space for silence with or without an image, where the spoken words can echo and rest in an empty and free space suitable for reinterpretation.

Starting with her personal history and background in humanitarian aid work in a prolog with discreet images of her 2005-2006 stay in Mali, the filmmaker also questions her family’s colonial past. Since the Haiti revolution in 1804 with her ancestor Charles Lefebvre Desnouettes until the present days with one of her cousins living in Haiti and working for Doctors without Borders, we understand that continuity and repetition of certain patterns or paths do not result by chance and that neo-colonial aspects of humanitarian aid work are but one aspect among many others in this globalized world.

 

Jeux de rôles was presented at Scriptings (Berlin, Achim Lengerer) from July to September 2016, in the Faculté des Sciences Humaines et Sociales of Tunis, in the FilmArche (Berlin) and in the Plateforme d’Insertion Humanitaire (France) where the film was shot.

.

 

.

.

.

Jeux de rôles

 

.

.

56 min, 2015, HD vidéo

Réalisation, image, montage, JORDANE MAURS
Production, JORDANE MAURS, BASIA JANISCH

.

“Jeux de rôles” est un essai documentaire biographique et autobiographique sur l’aide humanitaire en période néo-coloniale. La réalisatrice part de son expérience personnelle et interagit avec Kévin et Bruno, qui entrent en carrière dans l’humanitaire avec un stage dans une ONG à Lomé, Togo.

Kévin a 20 ans, il a passé 4 ans dans l’armée Française en tant qu’« opérateur sonar ». Bruno a 22 ans, il vient de finir son service civique.

Les tournages – avant et après leur séjour au Togo – ont eu lieu dans les locaux de leur centre de formation, La plateforme d’insertion par l’humanitaire et la coopération, à Romans-sur-Isère.

Ils forment un tandem parfois uni, parfois en désaccord mais leur complicité, leur proximité est tangible dans les regards, dans les gestes qu’ils échangent. Certaines séquences se focalisent sur ce langage corporel, d’autres sur leurs voix, montées sur fond noir, où le texte de leurs paroles est retranscrit partiellement.

Jeux de langages et langage corporel s’entremêlent dans un discours cinématographique parfois abstrait qui ne montre pas forcément l’objet de sa recherche et où le spectateur doit lui même chercher les clés des éléments proposés. Le film accorde une importance particulière au son et au texte, au rapport entre le langage parlé et le langage écrit, dans un rythme syncopé qui laisse une place au silence avec ou sans image, où les paroles énoncées peuvent raisonner et reposer dans un temps vide et libre pour l’interprétation.

En partant de son histoire personnelle et de son expérience avec le travail humanitaire dans un prologue où sont montrées furtivement des images de son séjour au Mali en 2005-2006, la réalisatrice questionne aussi le passé colonial de sa famille. Depuis la révolution Haïtienne en 1884 avec son aïeul Charles Levèfre Desnouettes jusqu’à aujourd’hui avec un de ses cousins établi à Haiti et travaillant pour Médecins Sans Frontières, on comprend que la continuité et la répétition de certains schémas ou trajectoires, ne relèvent pas du hasard et que les aspects néo-coloniaux du travail humanitaire, ne sont qu’un exemple parmi d’autres dans le monde contemporain globalisé.

.

.

.